love and bandwidth


30 Guitars
November 12, 2009, 9:03 am
Filed under: design, drawing, music, my work, pattern

Recently, Wooden Toy Quarterly posted on their site they had a few pages free in their next issue and wanted people to submit work to fill it up, so I decided to give it a go. The next issue has a music theme so submissions obviously had to address this. I didn’t really have any existing unpublished work of this nature so created something from scratch. I only found out about it two days before it was due so I rushed something together with the time I had.

patternThe design I came up with was a pattern which is built using 30 different electric guitar silhouettes. I don’t play guitar but I am quite intrigued by the various forms of guitar body, especially electric ones.

The pattern was intended to work on a macro and micro level. It probably works more on the macro though where the individual guitar forms almost blend visually into something else.

patternHere is a detail of it, alternating blue and white ground.

diamond patternThe pattern revolves around a basic diamond shape, roughly symmetrical, with guitars at different sizes.

guitarThere are 30 guitars I drew up. I think it is a good cross-section between traditional, metal, jazz, classics, and different slash ugly ones.

I haven’t heard back yet but won’t be bummed if it doesn’t make it. It’s a bit of weird concept and a not so elegant pattern.It’s also a bit flat for a full-bleed printed page. It was fun anyway. If it doesn’t get in, i’ve still got myself a collection of guitar vector graphics I can use for something else.

sexy guitarsI think my favorite guitars to draw were these three; the Ibanez K7, the Yamaha CV820 WB and the Dean ‘Dimebag’ edition Razor back. Basically because they are played by great guitarists [or similar models] and have elegant distinctive bodies.

ESP-Stephen-CarpenterI came across this one later which definitely would have made the cut if i’d found it in time. It’s a SC-608B Stephen Carpenter Signature Baritone Electric Guitar. Eight strings! Hells yeah! Tuned Low to High: F#/B/E/A/D/G/B/E. I want one just to look at. Isn’t it pretty? I think it’s inspired or a least similar too the Ibanez 8 string played by Mårten Hagström and Fredrik Thordendal from Meshuggah. I think I would feel a bit weird owning it though, like those who have a skateboard but can’t skate [I can’t skate either].

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

